National Afforestation & Eco-Development Board
Ministry of Environment and Forests
Government of India
Home   |   What’s New   |  Photo/Video Gallery   |   Contact Us
Indira Priyadarshini Vriksha Mitra (IPVM) Awards

Objectives and Year of Institution

The Indira Priyadarshini Vriksha Mitra (IPVM) Awards were instituted in 1986 to recognize the pioneering and innovative contribution made by individuals and institutions in the field of afforestation/wasteland development every year.

Till the year 2005, the awards were given under twelve categories but from 2006 onwards the awards were restructured to enhance their response and prestige and now awards under seven categories are given as follows:

1. Individual - Forest Officers
2. Individual - Other than Forest Officers
3. Institutions/Organisations under Government
4. Joint Forest Management Committees ( six awards region-wise)
5. Non-profit making Voluntary Organisations (NGOs)
6. Corporate Sector (Private/Public Sector Agencies)
7. Eco-Clubs at School Level (covered under National Green Corps Programme of the Ministry of Environment and Forests)

Note: i). Awards under category Individuals, both Forest Officers and others, should be in recognition of personal contribution demonstrating extra efforts beyond call of routine duty.

ii) Officials (other than Forest Officers) working in Government Departments including Forest. Department and private individuals will come under category 2.

iii) Six regions for the purpose of IPVM awards to JFMC will be North (Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Uttaranchal, Uttar Pradesh and UT of Chandigarh), East (Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa and West Bengal) West (Goa Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, UT of Dadara & Nagar Haveli, UT of Daman & Diu and UT of Lakshdweep) South (Andhra Pradesh, Karanataka, Kerala, Tamilnadu, UT of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, UT of Pondicherry) Central (Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh) and North East (Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura)

• Only one award is given in each category.

• Cash prize of Rs.2.5 lakhs along with Medallion and Citation is given for each category.

• Nominations of Government servants/Govt. Institutions/Organizations are forwarded through the Head of the Department/Organization concerned and those from JFMCs may be forwarded by the PCCF concerned.

The IPVM Awards for the years 2006, 2007 & 2008 were conferred on 19th November, 2009 and the same for the calendar year 2010 are under process.

IPVM Awards for States and Union Territories
The IPVM Awards for States and Union Territories were instituted in the year 2008 for enhancing the percentage of Forest and Tree Cover in States/UTs. The Awards are divided into three categories and only one award is given in each category as under :

a) Big State having geographical area of 80,000 Sq. Km. and above
Rs.8.00 lakhs
b) Small State having geographical area below 80,000 Sq. Km.
Rs.5.00 lakhs
c) Union Territories
Rs.5.00 lakhs